“Blurred [Staff] Lines” by Rachel Erani

There I was
elbows pointing
hips swaying from side to side
legs shifting my body weight from one to the other
the corners of my mouth curling up in a guilt-laden smirk

It felt good

Until they
banged
on the walls
of my ventricles
and broke down
the barriers
of my skull

it hurt

I try to resist
to block them
to protect myself
but they penetrate me
the words
they penetrate my grey
matter like it’s pink
I try really hard
not to think so
as not to encourage them

it really hurts

A word to the wise:
Stay away from trebles
Don’t flirt with basses
And be careful next time you invite the beat in

Leave a Reply

